Transferring a repository:
- You can transfer repositories to other users or organization accounts.
When you transfer a repository to a new owner, they can immediately administer the repository's contents, issues, pull requests, releases, project boards, and settings.
Prerequisites for repository transfers:
- When you transfer a repository that you own to another user account, the new owner will receive a confirmation email. The confirmation email includes instructions for accepting the transfer. If the new owner doesn't accept the transfer within one day, the invitation will expire.
- To transfer a repository that you own to an organization, you must have permission to create a repository in the target organization.
- The target account must not have a repository with the same name, or a fork in the same network.
- The original owner of the repository is added as a collaborator on the transferred repository. Other collaborators to the transferred repository remain intact.
- Private forks can't be transferred.
If you transfer a private repository to a GitHub Free user or organization account, the repository will lose access to features like protected branches and GitHub Pages.
Repository transfers and organizations:
To transfer repositories to an organization, you must have repository creation permissions in the receiving organization. If organization owners have disabled repository creation by organization members, only organization owners can transfer repositories out of or into the organization.
Transferring a repository owned by your user account:
You can transfer your repository to any user account that accepts your repository transfer. When a repository is transferred between two user accounts, the original repository owner and collaborators are automatically added as collaborators to the new repository.